Monday, September 12, 2011

I was so excited to leave (and nervous) that I couldn’t sleep. I’d gone to bed a little after 10pm the night before, but I woke up at 4:30am for good. I got up, showered, and did all the last minute things I needed to do: final packing, rearranging things, checking email, eating breakfast, and all that. By 7am, I was sitting on the couch watching the new Anderson Cooper show, waiting for Cynthia.

Cynthia arrived about 7:15am and we went back to pick up Sarah. Once we (and our bags) were all loaded into the car, we left for O’Hare in Chicago. On the way, we listened to an Italian language CD in a last ditch attempt to squeeze in some more vocabulary. After a while, it was grating, so we switched to music and eventually a comedy station. It felt like no time had passed when we got there.

We parked in the “Far, Far Away” lot and made our way to the airport. We went to Starbucks and I had my first pumpkin spice latte of the season (yum, as always). We flew from Chicago to Newark, NJ. We were all in the same row, but not seated next to each other.  At Newark, we had to ride a bus in about a half-circle so we could get off the bus and wait for another bus.

After one more bus circle and a small wait at the terminal, we finally got on the plane to go to Rome! Sarah and I sat together and Cynthia was a few seats behind us. I watched Midnight in Paris (which was extremely cute) and Kung Fu Panda 2 (which was hilarious). Directly behind us were women who thought overnight flights shouldn’t affect the upright seat positions of those in front of them (Sarah and me) and they got super grouchy when we decided it was time to sleep. We finally nodded off…and when we woke up…we were in ITALY!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

