September 23, 2011

This morning, we walked to the bus stop. I didn’t take fifteen minutes to get to the stop. The taxi drivers who kept telling us to wait for another taxi weren’t very helpful. The guy we asked for directions to make sure we were headed the right way, as it had been more than fifteen minutes, told us it was “just five minutes” from where we were. I understand that everyone’s relaxed and laid back, but five minutes up hill, carrying suitcases, isn’t five minutes. At least we made the bus. We rode back to Sorrento and caught the El-thing back to Naples. We passed by Vesuvius, which was awesome. The transportation wasn’t very smooth, so I couldn’t get a picture. From Naples, we ventured back to Rome.

We checked in at the Yes Hotel. It was a nice place. They had managed to cram four beds into our room. The best part was the bathroom – two showers with hot water. It was nice to take a shower and get dressed a little nicer to head out for our last night in Rome.

After dinner, we ventured further. Our waiter here was nice.

As a Simpsons fan, I was pleased to finally see Duff being distributed.

And this was the plan: see the Colosseum lit at night.

Much like the first time I saw it, I took a lot of pictures.

Colosseum and Constantine’s Arch.

Even then, I still couldn’t believe it.

I mean, it’s so very old.

And it’s still standing.

I stood inside and I want to again.

I really think this place was my favorite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am still very much in awe of the Colosseum. I don’t know that I’ll ever see anything to rival what it represents. I plan to try though. I need to see castles with moats. Soon. Anyway, we got our last gelato and wandered back to the hotel. The last night in Italy. The Colosseum at night was definitely the thing to do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

